Skip links

Hispanic Heritage Month (Religion & Race)

Hispanic Heritage Month is celebrated from September 15 through October 15 each year in the United States. The celebration begins in the middle of the month because September 15 marks the anniversary of the independence of five countries: Costa Rica, Nicaragua, El Salvador, Honduras, and Guatemala. It is followed by Mexico’s Independence Day, September 16, and Chile’s September 18.